BEST People

Current  |  MS Theses  |  Ph.D. Dissertations  |  Other Ph.D. Dissertations   |  Visiting ScholarsAgogino C.V.

Faculty

Alice Agogino, Roscoe and Elizabeth Hughes Professor of Mechanical Engineering, UC Berkeley

Andy Dong, Adjunct Professor of Mechanical Engineering at UC Berkeley and Chair of the MBA in Design Strategy at the California College of Arts.

Staff

Euiyoung Kim, Postdoctoral Scholar, Jacobs Institute of Design Innovation

Current M.S./Ph.D. Graduate Students

Andrew Barkan, ME
Angelo Brian Cera, ME, Safety Officer
Deniz Dogruer, SESAME
Elena Duran, SESAME
Jasmine Gipson, ME
Tomas Georgiou, ME
Julia Kramer, ME
Jianlan Luo, ME/EECS
George Moore, ME
Danielle Poreh, ME
Andrew Sabelhaus (Drew), Co-IT Manager, ME
Sonia Travaglini, ME
Alan Zhang, ME, Green Lab Liaison

2018-2019 M.Eng. Graduate Students

Squishy Robotics: Passive Robot Team
Last Name First Name Department Concentration Email
Chapellier Charlotte ME Product Design charlotte_chapellier@berkeley.edu
Gaikwad Prasad ME Product Design prasad_gaikwad@berkeley.edu
Wang Zining CivE Large Cyber-Physical System ziningwang@berkeley.edu
Foo Jovin ME Modeling & Simulation of Physical Process and Systems jovin95@berkeley.edu
Meeting time: Monday 10-11AM
Squishy Robotics: Active Robot Team
Last Name First Name Department Concentration Email
Sarvaiya Mrunal ME Controls mrunaljsarvaiya@berkeley.edu
Peterson Joshua ME Product Design peterson_joshua@berkeley.edu
Mason Friedberg ME Product Design mfriedberg@berkeley.edu
Tianyi Chen ME Controls ericxchen@berkeley.edu
Meeting time:  Monday 10-11AM
Beyond Hands
Last Name First Name Department Concentration Email
Asnaghi Davide davide_asnaghi@berkeley.edu
Liang Alva alva_liang@berkeley.edu
Gomes Elizabeth elizabethgomes@berkeley.edu
Derbier Lucie lucie.derbier@berkeley.edu
Rao Pooja pooja_rao@berkeley.edu
Meeting time: Tuesday 4-5PM

Reimagining Autonomous Driving Scenario: Flexible Experiences
Last Name First Name Department Concentration Email
Ong Aaron ME Product Design aong@berkeley.edu
Yeung Arnold ME Product Design arnold_yeung@berkeley.edu
Joaquin Rubin IEOR FT joaquintroncoso@berkeley.edu
Meeting time: Mon. 3-4pm
Reimagining Autonomous Driving Scenario: Connected Sensors
Last Name First Name Department Concentration Email
Sun Zheng (Lecea) ME Product Design leceasun@berkeley.edu
Bhayana Shreyas ME Product Design shreyas.bhayana@berkeley.edu
Zheng Changhao ME PD/Energy changhao_zheng@berkeley.edu
Zhang Ziwei (Enzo) ME Product Design enzo430@berkeley.edu
Vigner Hugues IEOR FT hugues.vigner@berkeley.edu
Meeting time: Mon. 3-4pm
Wind Power: Bird Safe, Quiet, Attractive
Last Name First Name Department Concentration Email
Gibbons Jack ME Energy jack_gibbons@berkeley.edu
Leport Nicolas ME Energy nicolasleport@berkeley.edu
Meeus Matthieu ME Energy matthieu_meeus@berkeley.edu
Rizk Marina ME Energy marinarizk@berkeley.edu
Wang Jiahui ME Energy jiahui_wang@berkeley.edu
Meeting time:
Wednesday 2-3 PM

Current PostDocs and Visiting Scholars

Recent PostDocs, Visiting Scholars

  • Matilde Bisballe JensenPhD Candidate – Engineering Design and Innovation, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU), Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering (MTP) in Trondheim
  • Soh Kim, Post-Doc, Center for Open Innovation
  • Jieun (Misa) Kwon, Visiting Graduate Mentor/Affiliate, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities 
  • Kevin Leahy, Fulbright Fellow
  • Osvaldo Romero, Visiting Student, UNAM
  • Binyang Song , Visiting Student, SUTD, Singapore
  • Chengwei Zhang, Visiting Student, Tsinghua University, China

Contact BEST Labbers

BEST Labbers
BEST Lab Alumni

For new BEST Lab members,  join our mailing lists following these instructions:

  • One of the PhD students (group managers) will then approve your request.

More on BEST Students

MS Theses/Projects Supervised
Ph.D. Dissertations Supervised
Other Ph.D. Dissertations (2nd or 3rd Reader)
Visiting Scholars Supervised

Lab Roster (2017-18, 208-19)
Lab Roster (2016-17)
2016-2017 M.Eng Graduate Students

Human-Powered Gym Team

2013 Commencement: (left to right) Celeste Roschuni, Lora Oehlberg, Ryan Shelby, Alice Agogino, Yael Perez

Tensegrity Robotics Team (2015)
Tensegrity Robotics Team (2014-2015)
Samsung Internet of Things Team (2015-16)
Signing Sohyoung Kim’s Ph.D. Dissertation (2013)
Alice Agogino and Sohyeong Kim win Pedar Sather Award
ME-Home-Wang
Jennifer Wang at the Lawrence Hall of Science
cares_team
2010-2011 CARES Team: (l to r): Ryan Shelby, Alex Kwon, Yael Perez, Tommy Liu, Cindy Bayley, Antonio Love, Stephanie Scott, Larissa Korach, Danny Wilson, and Stephen Appert
PPN_strawbale
CARES team building straw bale house at the Pinoleville Pomo Nation

Team Organization & Responsibilities

Lab FAQs and ERSO services and Tensegrity ERSO services


Current  |  MS Theses  |  Ph.D. Dissertations  |  Other Ph.D. Dissertations   |  Visiting ScholarsAgogino C.V.