BEST People

Current  |  MS Theses  |  Ph.D. Dissertations  |  Other Ph.D. Dissertations   |  Visiting ScholarsAgogino C.V.


Alice Agogino, Roscoe and Elizabeth Hughes Professor of Mechanical Engineering, UC Berkeley

Andy Dong, Adjunct Professor of Mechanical Engineering at UC Berkeley and Chair of the MBA in Design Strategy at the California College of Arts.


Euiyoung Kim, Postdoctoral Scholar, Jacobs Institute of Design Innovation
James (Yusong) Jiang, lead programmer, theDesignExchange

Current M.S./Ph.D. Graduate Students

Julien Caubel, ME
Angelo Brian Cera, ME
Deniz Dogruer, SESAME
Elena Duran, SESAME
Jasmine Gipson, ME
Pierce Gordon, ERG
Colin Ho (on leave at OpenROV), ME
Daniel Lim, ME
Julia Kramer, ME
Jessica Lee (with Ron Fearing), ME
Jianlan Luo, ME
George Moore, ME
Danielle Poreh, ME
Vivek Rao (with Slaw Hermanowicz), ME
Andrew Sabelhaus (Drew), Co-IT Manager, ME
Sonia Travaglini, ME
Alan Zhang, ME, Green Lab Liaison
Edward Liu Zhu, Co-IT & Website Manager, ME

2017-2018 M.Eng. Graduate Students

Wind Power: Bird Safe, Quiet, Aesthetic

Austin Campbell, ME, Advanced Energy
Ali Elashri, ME, Advanced Energy
Erica McClinton, ME, Advanced Energy
Chahal Neema, ME, Advanced Energy
Sponsor: Tom Flynn

Samsung Beyond Smartphones

Purva Juvekar, ME, Product Design
Ashis Ghosh, ME Product Design
Michael Oudenhoven, ME Product Design
Postdoc: Euiyoung Kim


Stephanie Cantu, ME, Product Design
Etienne Marecal, ME, Product Design
Satish Karagaraj, ME, Product Design
Postdoc: Euiyoung Kim

Laika Spine Tensegrity Robots

Holly Stein, ME Product Design
Nigel Mevana, ME Product Design
Jonathan Marr, ME Product Design
Graduate Mentor: Drew Sabelhaus

6-Bar Spherical Tensegrity Soft Robots

Zareen Cheema, ME, Product Design
Stuart Sonatina, ME, Product Design
Jeff Ying, ME, Product Design
Graduate Mentors: Brian Cera, Alan Zhang and Ed Zhu

Million Hands: Prosthetic Hands for Children through an Open Source Platform, 3D Printers & Sensors

Sina Dabiri, BioE
Jaqueline Nguyen, ME Product Design
Aastha Shah, BioE
Aashish Bhardwaj, BioE
Jose Ramirez, BioE
Annie Lee, ME, Product Design
Graduate Mentor: Daniel Lim

Current PostDocs and Visiting Scholars

Euiyoung Kim, Postdoctoral Fellow, Jacobs Institute of Design Innovation

Binyang Song , Visiting Student, SUTD, Singapore

Jieun (Misa) Kwon, Visiting Graduate Mentor/Affiliate, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities 

Hao Hong, Visiting Student, Zhejiang University, China

Recent PostDocs, Visiting Scholars

Matilde Bisballe JensenPhD Candidate – Engineering Design and Innovation, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU), Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering (MTP) in Trondheim.
Chengwei Zhang, Visiting Student, Tsinghua University, China

Soh Kim, Post-Doc, Center for Open Innovation
Kevin Leahy, Fulbright Fellow
Osvaldo Romero, Visiting Student, UNAM


Contact BEST Labbers

BEST Labbers
BEST Lab Alumni

For new BEST Lab members, you can join our mailing lists by going to the CalMail Mailing Lists site and typing in best-lab [at] lists (dot) berkeley (dot) edu under “List Address”, replacing in the “at” and “dot” characters. For new members of the BEST Lab tensegrity team, also register for the tensegrity-best-lab [at] lists (dot) berkeley (dot) edu listserv. Once you request to join the list, one of our current lab members will approve your request.

More on BEST Students

MS Theses/Projects Supervised
Ph.D. Dissertations Supervised
Other Ph.D. Dissertations (2nd or 3rd Reader)
Visiting Scholars Supervised

Lab Roster (2017-18, 208-19)
Lab Roster (2016-17)
2016-2017 M.Eng Graduate Students


Human-Powered Gym Team

2013 Commencement: (left to right) Celeste Roschuni, Lora Oehlberg, Ryan Shelby, Alice Agogino, Yael Perez

Tensegrity Robotics Team (2015)
Tensegrity Robotics Team (2014-2015)
Samsung Internet of Things Team (2015-16)
Signing Sohyoung Kim’s Ph.D. Dissertation (2013)
Alice Agogino and Sohyeong Kim win Pedar Sather Award
Jennifer Wang at the Lawrence Hall of Science
2010-2011 CARES Team: (l to r): Ryan Shelby, Alex Kwon, Yael Perez, Tommy Liu, Cindy Bayley, Antonio Love, Stephanie Scott, Larissa Korach, Danny Wilson, and Stephen Appert
CARES team building straw bale house at the Pinoleville Pomo Nation

Team Organization & Responsibilities

Lab FAQs and ERSO services and Tensegrity ERSO services

Current  |  MS Theses  |  Ph.D. Dissertations  |  Other Ph.D. Dissertations   |  Visiting ScholarsAgogino C.V.